Hour of Code

Hour of Code 2015
Minecraft is super popular with kids and if I thought I could install minecraft EDU on our work computers I would do it to have some more educational computer type classes for the kids. Unfortunately that is not an option so instead I advertised running the minecraft-themed hour of code on code.org. This is an introduction to logic and computer programming basics so you do not need to have any coding experience. The program runs on the code.org website and each participant can move at their own pace. You really don’t have to do anything other than walk around and help a kid if  they seem to be stuck. The tutorial progresses in a series of puzzles with the new puzzle building on the skills of the last.

minecraft2016

I hope you will check out the code.org website for more information but here is their brief explanation of the hour of code.

“The Hour of Code started as a one-hour introduction to computer science, designed to demystify “code”, to show that anybody can learn the basics, and to broaden participation in the field of computer science. It has since become a worldwide effort to celebrate computer science, starting with 1-hour coding activities but expanding to all sorts of community efforts. Check out the tutorials and activities. This grassroots campaign is supported by over 400 partners and 200,000 educators worldwide.”

I had quite a few people signed up, though I only have a few spots because we only have a handful of laptops for computer classes. Only 3 people showed up for the program but they did complete the tutorial and earned their hour of code certificate.

2015 Attendance: 3

Hour of Code 2016
For 2016 I advertised the hour of code more heavily as there were now more tutorials on code.org including a new minecraft, Frozen, and Star Wars. I increased the number of registration spots this year as the website actually encourages partnering kids together and was at capacity pretty quickly. But the day of the program I had two parent call to say their students were sick, and everyone else was a no show. I think I might try to incorporate the code.org tutorials into the maker programming I want to do instead of (or possibly in addition to) the one day event. I think December might just be too hard for my patrons to commit to.

2016 Attendance: 0

Leave a Reply

